AGM 2022 – Monday 21st November


Kia ora Members

Your Committee is preparing for the AGM and we thought that we would provide you guidance on how the AGM nominations and any elections will be held this year.

As the upcoming AGM is the first following our change of Constitution/Rules clause 10.3 directs that 50% of the Committee Members must stand down and seek re-election if they choose to stay on the Committee.

At our last AGM, Jeff Neilson, Tony Davies, Robyn Dewson, Rongomai Flavell and Mason Palliser were all elected as Committee Members.  Throughout the past year, Rongomai and Mason have stepped back from the Committee which leaves three active Committee Members.  It is hard to split three in half therefore Jeff will continue as a Committee member and Tony and Robyn will stand for re-election.  The flow on effect is that, at next years AGM Jeff will need to stand for re-election, if he chooses and Tony and Robyn, if re-elected, will continue on the Committee until the AGM in 2024 when they may choose to stand again.  This will enable the experience within the Committee to continue whilst bringing new Committee members into the fold which will hopefully assist with good governance and management of our Club.

The positions of our Officers are currently held by Kiri as President, Sean as Vice President, Zoe as Treasurer and the position of Secretary is vacant.  Robyn is filling in as Acting Secretary until the AGM as Jody decided to step back from the Committee.

Kiri has made a very hard choice and advised the Committee that she would not be able to continue as our President following the AGM, but thankfully Kiri will stay working with the Rangitahi & Tamariki.  Sean has also decided to step out of the role of Vice- President but hopes to remain on the Committee.  As Zoe was elected at the 2022 election she will hold the position for another year, then may to seek re-election in 2023.  This leaves President, Vice-President and Secretary up for election at this AGM. 

The expectation under the new Constitution/Rules is that once elected an Officer or Committee Member will serve a term of two years.  This is not set in stone as any person always has the right to resign at anytime if they so wish.
This year the Committee has appointed Karen Driver as our Returning Officer and Karen will also act as one of the scrutineers at the AGM if an election is required.  The second scrutineer can be appointed on the night.
We would love to see new Committee Members jump on board.  If this is you please ask a friend, who is a member, to nominate you and then arrange for another member to act as seconder of your nomination.
To nominate a person for President, Vice-President or a Committee Member, you will need to email Karen ([email protected]) with your nomination and also record in that email, who seconds the nomination.  The seconder should also email Karen to confirm that they second the nomination.  Please also note in your email that the person being nominated gives their consent.
The first notice of the AGM is below.

Nominations close at 7 pm on Thursday 10 November.  This will give time for all nominations to be collated then the names of the nominees will be provided in the second notice of the AGM which will be circulated on Friday 11 November 2022.  Please note that NO nominations will be accepted after the deadline as recorded above.  In the second Notice we will provide you with guidance on how to lodge your proxy vote if you are unable to attend the AGM in person. 
If you want to stand as an officer and also want to be on committee, if you are not elected to the preferred officer position, then arrange to be nominated as a Committee Member as well. Include in your email advice to Karen whether you are seeking an officer position and/or on Committee.  This will hopefully mean that if you are unsuccessful as an officer, we don’t lose your desire to help by being on Committee.

We hope to see you at our AGM.

Ngā mihi
Your Committee
NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN of the Annual General Meeting of the
Maitahi Outrigger Canoe Club Incorporated to be held at
Victory Community Centre
Meeting Room 
2 Titoki Street Nelson
on Monday 21 November 2022 at 6 pm

ANNUAL REPORT OF THE COMMITTEE – presented by the President
FINANCIAL STATEMENTS – presented by the Treasurer
ELECTION OF OFFICERS – President, Vice-President, and Secretary
ELECTION OF COMMITTEE MEMBERS – up to a maximum of four (4)
Do the members want to change the membership year starting on 1 July to start on 1 September?
Open floor 
Robyn Dewson
Acting Secretary

Copyright © 2022 Maitahi Outrigger Canoe Club, All rights reserved.
You are receiving this email because you are a member of the Maitahi Outrigger Canoe Club.

Contacts:President: Kiri Wahanui   
E: [email protected]
Secretary: Jody Hughes
E: [email protected]
Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list

Its never too early or too late to start paddling waka ama

We always welcome new members to the Maitahi Outrigger Canoe Club.
We have social and racing waka ama crews catering for a wide variety of ages and abilities.